Thaleia Lewis

I was born in London, England, raised mainly in Kent in South-East England but also lived for several years as a child in Geneva, Switzerland, due to my father’s job as a commercial ship broker. That is where I learnt French and my passion for mountain sports began. I am the middle of three daughters and shipping and seafaring run in the family. I was named after an oil tanker that my father was working with when I was born (it could have been alot worse!) and I am very proud of the fact that my uncle was an engineer in the Royal Navy, serving aboard several ships including the
famous HMS Belfast that can be seen next to Tower Bridge in London. After leaving school, I gained a First Class Master’s Degree with Honours in Mechanical Engineering
at Manchester University, England, and also spent a year of this course studying in Toulouse, France.

I am always keen to continue with my education. I worked up the ranks within yachting to gain my yacht engineering qualifications and like to expand my knowledge by doing extra courses where possible relating in particular to electrics and electronics. I enjoy travelling and seeing and experiencing different countries and cultures and meeting new people. I have been very lucky to travel extensively throughout my yachting career, having been on a world trip with one yacht and travelling to exotic places such as the Galapagos Islands, as well as working with other yachts in some off-the-beaten-track destinations such as Baja California Sur, Mexico. Before coming to work on yachts eleven years ago, I lived in the French mountain resort of Chamonix for ten years where I enjoyed skiing, climbing and mountain-biking amongst many other sports. I love living the outdoor life surrounded by nature and wildlife. I decided to start a career in the yachting industry as several of my friends worked on yachts, told me all about it and suggested I give it a try. I packed up my belongings, left the mountains, headed to the Mediterranean and I haven’t stop travelling the world since then! I did not grow up sailing but very much enjoy being at sea.

Hobbies and interests: Skiing, mountainbiking, climbing, trail-running, hiking, Muay Thai. I enjoy listening to all types of music and playing the piano. I like to read mountain novels (even though they always seem to end in disaster!) and I also enjoy reading thrillers. I am a keen gardener and I enjoy growing my own fruit and vegetables.